90 Years and Counting…

The DuPage County Historical Society was founded in 1929 by a group of DuPage County Civic leaders and residents with a common interest in the history of the County. Their goal was to gather, preserve and disseminate the County’s history.

Another goal was to establish a museum that would be the focal point for the collection and preservation of artifacts, memorabilia, and records representative of the rich heritage of the County. In 1965, the old Wheaton Library building, the Adams Memorial Library, was purchased by Edwin F. and Lois Deicke and presented as a gift to the Society. The Society then deeded the property to DuPage County. In 1967, the DuPage County Historical Museum, a department of the County government, opened its doors. The Society was the main support group for the Museum until 2004. The DuPage County Historical Museum is now a part of the Wheaton Park District.

The DuPage County Historical Society continues to promote and preserve the history of DuPage County through publications, lectures, the presentation of History Recognition Awards, and cooperative efforts with other DuPage County historical organizations. It has gained widespread recognition for its publications and historical programs and its efforts related to preserving the County’s history. Its most recent publications are the award-winning DuPage Roots, the 1874 DuPage County AtlasBugles in a Dream: DuPage County in the Civil WarThe Potawatomi Indians of DuPage County, the magazine DuPage History, and the “Historic St. Charles Road Driving Tour” brochure.

Most especially, the Society is embracing 21st century technology to further its mission. The DuPage Roots was digitized and placed on this website to make the history of the county and its individual municipalities accessible to anyone, anywhere, at anytime. Future plans include updating the DuPage Roots histories and also making other out-of-print materials available on this website.

The Society is totally dependent on the dues and generosity of Members and other public-spirited citizens and organizations. Gifts, contributions and new memberships are always welcome.

DuPage County Historical Society Officers & Board Members

An elected Board of Directors directs the DuPage County Historical Society’s activities. The Board holds regular meetings every other month. The Annual Meeting is held in late fall of each year. Currently, the Board of Directors is composed of the following individuals:
Carol Marcus, Villa Park – Co-President / Newsletter
Margaret Franson Pruter, Elmhurst – Co-President
Toni Saunders, Lombard – Vice President / Special Projects
Robert Woodruff, Oak Brook – Treasurer / Recognition Awards Coordinator
Norma Budzinski, Wheaton – Membership
Bill Maloney, Glen Ellyn – Hospitality / Recognition Awards Assistant
Public Relations / Publicity Vacant
Melody Coleman, Naperville – Secretary
Glennette Tilley Turner, Wheaton – Underground Railroad authority
Social Media Vacant

Past Presidents

Theodore Hammerschmidt1929-1935, six years
Marshall Keig1935-40, five years
Hugh G. Dugan1940-1944, four years
H. A. Berens1944-1960, sixteen years
Hugh G. Dugan1960-1961, one year
Margaret Dunton1962-1969, seven years
Edwin Deicke1969-1973, four years
Dorothy Vandercook1973-1975, two years
Donald Schmidt1975-1979, four years
Amy E. Crisler1979-1983, four years
Dr. William Stroner1983-1985, two years
Patricia Stockner1985-1988, three years
Frances Vestuto1988-1992, four years
Keith Letsche1992-1996, four years
Tyrone Tipitino1996-2000, four years
Keith Letsche2000-2004, four years
Catherine Bruck2004-2006, two years
Frances Vestuto2006-2010, three years
Carol Marcus & Margaret Franson Pruter2010-2021, eleven years
%d bloggers like this: